Home » Home Decorating » Exploring Colors for Your Home: Green

Exploring Colors for Your Home: Green

Exploring Colors for Your Home: Green

In my previous post, we began exploring the color wheel and how to use the wheel when selecting colors for your home. In some upcoming posts we will delve into specific colors, the emotions they evoke and how to appropriately use them in your home. My favorite color and the first one we will be working with is GREEN!

Green is a secondary color resulting from blue and yellow and it is a cool tone. The colors closest to green on the color wheel that would create an analogous color scheme are yellow/orange and blue/purple. The colors opposite green to create a complimentary color scheme are red/red-orange and crimson.

When people think of the color green typically they think of wealth (money), envy, nature (trees, plants, water, etc.), growth, freshness, harmony, health, wellness, environmentally friendly, emeralds, etc.

When it comes to the emotions that colors influence this depends on your personal perception of the color, your background, your mood and your culture. With all of that being said, there are some universal emotions that colors affect. In general, cool colors help with relaxation and healing but can also cause sadness and loneliness. Green in particular is very soothing and healing making it a very versatile color for use in many places. It is ideal for rooms where peacefulness is required such as bedrooms, bathrooms (think relaxing bath), living/family rooms, dens, libraries, children’s rooms and sun rooms. Depending on the room and use of that space certain shades of green would work better than others. In general, the more vibrant the shade, the more energy the color will invoke.

Green Sofa Image from DesignSponge, http://www.designsponge.com/2008/11/green-interiors.html

Tropical Kitchen Image from Cottage Living, http://room-galleries.myhomeideas.com/pictures/cottage-living/index.html?ad=15&N=0+8240&dir=next&view=gallery&No=40&sp=mostrecent

http://www.interior-design-it-yourself.com/interior-designs-living-room.html

White Pique Crib Bedding in Green by New Arrivals Inc. http://www.rosenberryrooms.com/101-white-pique-crib-bedding-in-green.html

HGTV Green Home 2009: The Best Indoor and Outdoor Photos, http://www.hgtv.com/green-home/hgtv-green-home-2009-the-best-indoor-and-outdoor-photos/pictures/index.html

Image from Shelter, http://shelterinteriordesign.blogspot.com/2011/05/summer-love.html

Our Top 10 Kitchens by SouthernAccents, http://www.southernaccents.com/decorating/our-top-10-kitchens-00400000040564/page10.html

A Bit O' Green Interiors photo, http://www.curbly.com/diy-maven/posts/8114-a-bit-o-green-interiors

Modern by Design Showhouse 2009: Last Stop by katiedid, http://katie-d-i-d.blogspot.com/2009/07/modern-by-design-showhouse-2009-last.html

http://www.bathroomremodelings.org/2011/05/28/freestanding-tubs-5/

Sources:

Color Psychology

Color Psychology - Green

2 Responses to Exploring Colors for Your Home: Green

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>